Rusty Keys

I just realised it has been two weeks since I last updated my blog. I haven’t been doing much but at least I’ve watched Inception and Despicable Me. Otherwise I curl up on a corner of the couch for hours on end wearing nothing but t-shirts and sarongs. With my messed up tresses, I can be mistaken as an old auntie or a maid or a witch if I pile up some dark eye-makeup and start the evil laughter going. Maybe I should start doing that and scare the neighbours to sprucing up their place a bit – ants and what nots are invading my house and I suspect it came from their place  >.< seriously.

Anyway, I opened up a ‘dusty’ copy of Hanon – The Virtuoso Pianist in 60 Exercise in an attempt to brush up my ‘rusty’ fingers. I was inspired to play the piano after watching Shinichi Chiaki play Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No.2 on the hit anime series Nodame Cantabile.

The last paragraph of the intro (written by C.L Hanon himself) is written;

Pianist and teachers who cannot find the time for sufficient practice to keep up their playing need only play these exercises a few hours to regain their technique. The entire book can be played through in one hour . . .

The entire book can be played in one hour. Ok, let’s give it a try!

After twenty minutes, a film of perspiration began to form on my back and my forehead. After half an hour, my neck and shoulders start to stiffen and hurt. After one hour, I gave up – with forty exercises to go.

Of course! After a long break from the keys, how are you supposed to maintain focus for so long? And a long break meant about six months off practicing. Playing Negaraku and the school song for assembly once a month does not count (I’ve played those for six years now). Oh, the fatigue *faints on the keyboard*.

I returned to normal after playing the pieces which I am more familiar with – from my favourite composer, Joe Hisaishi. I can play his pieces for hours. I have a book of Sonata collections and the easier version of Chopin and a copy of Grieg’s Piano Concerto in A Minor which I have yet to complete playing. I very much prefer playing Hisaishi’s music, since it is easier and less stressful to play. I am not saying it is easy. Beautiful songs come with sophisticated cords and unusual timing, but once you’ve mastered it you won’t stop playing it.

Meet my piano, Bernstein. It has been with me since I was 5. It was bought second hand, but it sounds good even today. Although it goes rather ‘twang, twang’ if I step on the damper pedal rather enthusiastically.

Til the next post, au revoir!


Leave a Reply

